UConn defeats NC State in a double-overtime thriller; Louisville defeats Michigan in the Elite Eight

By Our Sports Correspondent

The Final Four has been set after UConn and Louisville won their Regional Finals on Monday night. South Carolina, the No. 1 overall seed, and Stanford, the defending champion and also a No. 1 seed, earned their tickets the night before.

When No. 2 seed UConn and No. 1 seed NC State faced off in the first game of the day, history was made. The Huskies came into the game as a four-point favorite, but the Wolfpack were a tough opponent, and 40 minutes was insufficient to produce a winner.

Seeded third Michigan was taking part in its first Elite Eight round. No. 1 Louisville dominated for the majority of the night, but the Wolverines were tenacious and stayed in the game.

The Final Four will be held.


starting on April 1st in Minneapolis The winning teams will face off in the championship game on April 3.

After a double overtime battle against No. 1 seed NC State, No. 2 UConn advances to the Final Four round for the 14th time in a row. Paige Bueckers got off to a slow start, scoring only four points in the first four quarters, but she finished with 27 points, 15 of which came in the two overtime periods. NC State’s leading scorer, Elissa Cunane, also had a slow offensive start, but she was the one who hit the game-tying shot with one minute left in the fourth quarter. The Wolfpack had suffered another setback in recent weeks.

starting on April 1st in Minneapolis The winning teams will face off in the championship game on April 3.

Junior forward Jakia Brown-Turner hit a three-pointer with one second remaining in the first overtime period.

The top seed Louisville advanced to the Final Four for the fourth time in school history after defeating No. 3 seed Michigan 62-50. The Wolverines were unable to overcome Naz Hillmon’s double-double of 18 points and 11 rebounds. Hailey Van Lith, a sophomore guard, led the Cardinals offense for the fourth time in a row with 20 points. The Cardinals will face the No. 1 overall seed South Carolina Gamecocks.